Pet Insurance Quotes

Pet Insurance Reviews

pet insurance reviews

Compare Plans | Best Pet Insurance

Introduction

We’ve collected thousands of pet insurance reviews from customers who have experience with pet insurance. Like many products online, customer reviews are an excellent way to separate the winners from the losers to narrow your search. As you’ll see there are a lost of great companies but also some not-so-great reviews. So take a few minutes to read through so you can ensure you choose the perfect plan for your dog or cat!

With over two dozen companies in the market today, there is a plan and price for every man, woman, pup and kitty!

Customer Reviews

………………………………

“Sarah at Petplan Customer Service is Awesome!”

“I spoke with Sarah regarding a question about mailing issues with my claims proceeds. I found her to be very engaging, helpful, and quick to solve my issue. She’s part of a great team at Petplan, and I wholeheartedly recommend them!”



Adam N.

November 30, 2020

Insured by Petplan Pet Insurance

………………………………

“Do Not Get Your Pet Insurance from Nationwide”

“Do not recommend using Nationwide.

The whole process of getting the insurance is honestly confusing. If you get insurance online, the don’t give you ALL of the options they have but you don’t know that unless you talk with someone on the phone (terrible communication from the start). I chose the most expensive online option provided to me and followed up with a call to the customer service team to confirm the ONE thing I REALLY needed was covered with my selection.

I chose Nationwide to make sure my puppy was covered in full when he got neutered. I called to ask that very specific question and was told it did. Four months later after I submit the claim, I get a response weeks later saying it was denied because this was not covered by my selection.

When I talked with the customer service supervisor about this all she could say is “sorry and there is nothing else we can do” despite this major financial setback being caused by a member of their team not being properly trained and misinforming me. On top of that, this is when I was told that even though this was the most expensive option provided to me online and it covers the best for my dog’s breed and age, there are other options that aren’t provided on the webpage and one of those options was the package that came with the neutering benefit.

I don’t recommend getting insurance through Nationwide. You have to go through hoops to get a hold of the people, it feels like they are more eager to deny claims than to help and I no longer trust that my puppy is properly covered through them. They provide an online pamphlet of what is covered by your insurance but it’s very long and full of medical/veterinarian terms that the majority of their customers do not understand!

Nationwide – PLEASE update your webpage and stop limiting your customers considering human error on your end is highly possible.”

☆☆☆☆

Alexandra M.

November 30, 2020

Insured by Nationwide Pet Insurance

………………………………

“Hands down the absolute best pet insurance on the market!”

“Hands down the best, most reliable pet insurance on the market! Our pups have been with Healthy Paws for over 5 years and we have had the great peace of mind when it came to giving them the best possible care. Customer support is outstanding and very responsive and this company by far has shown their great care for their insured. Reimbursements come very quickly and I have never had issues in paying the bills well in advance of their due date. One of our pups developed diabetes and we could not have been able to afford her medical needs if not for Healthy Paws so we are forever grateful. If you want to give your furbabies the best possible care, do not hesitate to go with Healthy Paws!”



Tina K.

November 27, 2020

Insured by Healthy Paws Pet Insurance

………………………………

“Great Company with a Very Quick Turnover for Claims”

“We have been with Healthy Paws for almost 5 years. To be honest, our rates have gone up quite a lot since the beginning, but we are are so grateful that we have insurance with Healthy Paws! We can always choose what we think is the best and healthiest thing for Honey rather than focus on what is the least expensive route. Healthy Paws has always been quite fair in considering our claims and usually we have gotten the funds very quickly. Just recently, our sweet Cavalier King Charles had a broken tooth and needed x-rays, blood work and dental surgery with anesthesia. Healthy Paws covered our claim quickly and without much ado. And, believe it or not, we got an email from the company’s owners asking if Honey was doing OK after her surgery! How thoughtful and unexpected! Unfortunately, the vets discovered a heart murmur at that time and we needed an echocardiogram and now we see ourselves faced with more bills and more importantly, more worries and angst about our doggie. We are so lucky that we have Healthy Paws since we have one less HUGE worry– the vet bills- since we know from experience that the company will stand up to their commitment to pet health. Frankly, I feel fortunate that we can choose to get her the best care and it still be affordable. Thank you Healthy Paws! I wish I could give you 10 stars.”



Penny O.

November 20, 2020

Insured by Healthy Paws Pet Insurance

………………………………

“Above and Beyond Customer Service”

“I just need to write an amazing review! Exceptionally excellent personal review for not one but two customer service personal named Kalaria and Rebecca. Both ladies went above and beyond service. I have been with Nationwide for a little over two years now and I’m not one for writing any reviews. Let’s be honest most of the service people want to do as little as possible to get you off the phone. Well that’s been my experience anytime I needed help, not with the two ladies I named. They’re the best did everything they said they would! I hope this reaches management, they truly deserve praise and or even a raise in pay. Thank you for getting my issue straight and being very pro customer service!”



Rebecca B.

November 19, 2020

Insured by Nationwide Pet Insurance

………………………………

“Nationwide is on Our Side!”

“I adore nationwide! They always put my pet first. I’ve received nothing but outstanding customer service in all forms of correspondence. I’m happy to suggest them anytime I’m asked because I’m confident in the services they provide. Nationwide is on our side. Claims process was smooth & easy, while also being quicker than anticipated.”



Emily E.

November 18, 2020

Insured by Nationwide Pet Insurance

nationwide pet insurance Waylon and Piper

………………………………

“GREAT CLAIM SERVICE”

I have been with Nationwide for over 10 years. This is my second policy with my second Great Dane. AS with all insurance be it car, home or health the company is only as good as it’s claim department. Ozzy is a very healthy dog but as with most giant breeds they have issues on occasion. This last one was a benign lesson requiring removal. The claim was submitted only a couple of days after the procedure and has already been paid. Nearly 95% of the total paid. This company is the best pet insurance. I used to have VIP but every claim was a battle. I am very happy with the claims process and the Company. Thank you for being on my side :)”



Christine L.

November 18, 2020

Insured by Nationwide Pet Insurance

………………………………

“Healthy Paws is the Best!!”

“When I first got my GSP I knew they were a very high maintenance breed and set out to buy insurance for her. I came across Healthy Paws and to date have filed about 30 claims with them. Each one was paid within a day, and I get the checks within a week. I couldn’t be happier with them. Recently my dog had to go to the emergency room for several days and the bill was over $7,000.00. I forwarded it to Healthy Paws and they paid it all under a week. I often joke with friends that my dog has better health insurance than I do.”



Anthony G.

November 17, 2020

Insured by Healthy Paws Pet Insurance

………………………………

Great Pet Insurance”

“As a pet owner we only want the best for them and selecting Healthy Paws as our pet coverage was one of the best decisions we made for our fur babies!! Thank you for being there when it counted!!



Greig L.

November 13, 2020

Insured by Healthy Paws Pet Insurance

………………………………

“Healthy paws is great pet insurance”

“Healthy paws is pretty great. Our poor Rosie had to do a bunch of tests this year including an endoscopy, ultrasound, X-ray, and a lot of different meds. Thank goodness we had Healthy paws. We uploaded all of our invoices electronically, and got reimbursed within 2 weeks. They even have direct deposit. The best part is, they even emailed us to follow up on Rosie to make sure she was doing better.”



Mason C.

November 12, 2020

Insured by Healthy Paws Pet Insurance

………………………………

“Claims and policies for Bella Violet and Gus”

“I worked with Alyssa regarding claims and policies for all 3 of my dogs Bella Violet and Gus. She is very smart professional knowledgeable helpful and patient. She will explain and go the extra mile to make sure you have all the information you needs. Thank you Alyssa!”



Kim P.

November 12, 2020

Insured by Petplan Pet Insurance

………………………………

“Do Not Buy This Insurance!”

“I have paid premiums for 6 years. My dog had a growth removed and a tooth pulled on the same day. Total almost $600.00. They paid $1.50. That is not a typo. One dollar and 50 cents. They said it was two procedures so I had to meet the 20% co pay and the $300. Deductible on each condition! I will be canceling and looking for a new policy. Don’t buy this insurance, it won’t cover when you need it.”



Melody W.

November 10, 2020

Insured by Petplan Pet Insurance

………………………………

“Quick and easy”

“Easy to file claims and the processing of claims is super quick.”



Mollie S.

November 9, 2020

Insured by Healthy Paws Pet Insurance

………………………………

“Best Pet Insurance Company”

“Great monthly rates. Easy to use. Just take a photo of invoice directly from phone and submit. They respond and get you paid within 1 week. My dog was very sick and Healthy Paws helped eased the financial stress. I highly recommend this pet insurance company.”



Lettisia P.

November 3, 2020

Insured by Healthy Paws Pet Insurance

………………………………

“Highly recommend!”

“I can’t say enough great things about Healthy Paws! This was our first experience with pet insurance and I bought a policy when we adopted our rescue dog. Six months later she was diagnosed with heartworm. Healthy Paws has been great in terms of how easy it is to submit a claim and reimbursement time. I have called them a few times with questions and always speak to a polite person who seems to genuinely care about helping me with our pet. I highly recommend them!”



Holly S.

November 1, 2020

Insured by Healthy Paws Pet Insurance

………………………………

“Do not get Nationwide Pet Insurance – they automatically deny expenses!!

I have been a member for nearly a year before my first claim. I submitted claims for a couple of visits because my dog got some rashes that had to be treated (with allergy medicine). Nationwide denied the claim saying that allergies are pre-existing – they said that in my survey I mentioned she had skin conditions (which I have never said). This is a rip-off place and I have terminated my insurance – why do I have it if they won’t reimburse these expenses??? Do not get pet insurance – you are better off self-funding!!!”

☆☆☆☆

Michael B.

October 31, 2020

Insured by Nationwide Pet Insurance

………………………………

“Pleasant customer service

I spoke with Diana about the status of my claim to reconsider it. She explained reviews are taking a bit longer. She was very pleasant. Sure hope they reconsider and take off the diagnosis they claim my cat has.”



Linda S.

October 30, 2020

Insured by Nationwide Pet Insurance

………………………………

“Great insurance option.

Healthy Paws offers good coverage but where it really excels is it’s customer service and ease of filing claims. Filing a claim through the app is a quick and straightforward process.

Another thing to note, someone reached out to me from Healthy Paws to ask about how my dog was doing in response to one of my claims. This made me feel like they care about my dog and her well-being. Definitely recommend them if you are looking for insurance for your pet.”



Donnie C.

October 27, 2020

Insured by Healthy Paws Pet Insurance

………………………………

“Best investment for our kitties!

I cannot tell you how grateful we are to have Healthy Paws insurance. I viewed TONS of companies before we decided on Healthy Paws and I know we made the right decision. They are fast, caring, honest, and we could not ask for better. Thanks to you, Healthy Paws, Parker and Riley (and their owners) feel confident and secure that they will be healthy! (Now if you could figure out an easier way to get Riley into the pet carrier when he needs to go to the vet, THAT would be something!) Bless you and your team!”



Casey T.

October 27, 2020

Insured by Healthy Paws Pet Insurance

………………………………

Cannot recommend highly enough!!

“I do not have enough positive things to say about my experience with Healthy Paws! Seriously, just get it. Despite some teasing from friends about enrolling in pet insurance (I heard a lot of “it’s just a cat, it’ll be fine”), I figured it was a good thing to do when I got my two kittens, Loki and Bo, about 4 years ago. I did my research, and the reviews I found online indicated that Healthy Paws seemed to be the one people liked the most. That, combined with the affordable monthly fee and low deductible meant that it wasn’t going to break the bank, even if my cats never needed it. I’ve owned cats my whole life and have never had one with health problems, and the most time we’d ever spent at the vet was for occasional stomach issues etc. However, because I was a student at the time, I wanted to be sure that my little fur babies were covered if something were to happen. While one of my cats (Loki) has been 100% fine with no major incidents, Bo hasn’t been as fortunate. He was diagnosed last year with feline asthma, and healthy paws has paid for all of his medications (score one for Healthy Paws). Recently, in what was a freak accidently, Bo slipped off a shelf and broke his back leg upon landing. I have never had a cat with this sort of injury, and was so anxious about the whole thing. The surgery to repair it along with the diagnostics etc cost about $10,500 dollars. I can say for certain, without Healthy Paws covering almost all of it, I might have had to put Bo down. The situation was so stressful, but the one thing I did NOT stress about was whether I could afford Bo’s medical treatment. It was a huge relief to listen to the emergency vets and authorize various pain medications, hospitalization, and surgery without worrying as much about the financial side of things. It also was a relief to the vet/surgeons, as I could tell they really thought surgery was the only way forward. I called the customer support worried about everything, and the guy I spoke to was so kind, respectful, and reassuring about the coverage I had to treat the cat. The reimbursements are quick, can be done via direct deposit, and claims are processed so fast. After the surgery, healthy paws sent me a follow up email making sure Bo was ok. I have never once felt unsure whether or not Bo would be covered. In summary, if you have a pet, please get pet insurance even if you don’t think you’ll need it, or have never had an issue with an animal before. I never ever expected to be in the sort of situation I was in, and I’m not sure what I would have done if I didn’t have Healthy Paws. I know other people with Trupanion and some of the other competition, and they have all agreed that my coverage is way more expensive. I know I sound like broken record, but I cannot recommend the coverage that this company provides, and the people working for them enough!”



Rachel S.

October 24, 2020

Insured by Healthy Paws Pet Insurance

………………………………

Slow Claim Processing

“I’ve been a nationwide whole wellness customer for 8 months and have been waiting over 3 months for my claims to process. Using COVID as an excuse to slow down claim processing adversely impacts my families financial wellbeing and is in sharp contrast to my car and home insurance providers who have proactively reached out to reduce and refund a portion of my premiums.”

☆☆☆

Johnny 5

October 23, 2020

Insured by Nationwide Pet Insurance

………………………………

Run as fast as you can. Use anyone else.

“If I could give 0 stars I would. I began coverage on December 1, 2019 and was asked to fill out a survey about my pet. It asked about my pets previous vet visits going back 6 months. Based on my answers nationwide out exclusions on the policy. When my dog tore his cranial cruciate ligament in January (which wasn’t properly diagnosed until March) I submitted the vet bill and it was denied. I realized it is because the exclusion put on the policy was simply “leg lameness” as opposed to a more specific “lameness due to _____” and began the process of jumping hoops to prove his lameness prior to the policy existing came from torn paw pads the previous august. First I was instructed by Nationwide to submit vet notes – it seemed simple for them to update my exclusion. However, since the vet formally documented to come back for further examination if the dog is still limping in a week (which wasn’t necessary, of course), the insurance denied my claim. Eventually I got a full diagnosis from the injury my dog sustained in January and ended up going on to get surgery for him which we waited til June to have done due to Covid-19. I called nationwide to ask how to appeal the denial and have the exclusions on the policy updated to reflect my dogs torn paw pads and they asked for either an updated diagnosis from my vet for the visit last august. My vet called Nationwide and later even wrote a note after conferring with my dogs surgeon to explain there’s no ethical way he can update past visit notes – but it’s standard to write a suggestion to come back if the issue persists and is in no way an implication that the doctor suspects any other issue besides torn paw pads. I followed the recommendation of my doctor. My doctor followed his normal procedure with note taking. And yet nationwide has made me jump through all these hoops making me believe the exclusion could be edited to be more specific so nationwide will cover my dogs vet bills for the new injury but in spite of all my efforts they are still denying my claims during a pandemic when im unemployed and when I have fronted over $3000 for vet visits related to my dogs surgery. “Leg lameness” could come from a multitude of things – it’s unfair for an insurance company to exclude multiple conditions with this general exclusion term and deny coverage. Watch out! The customer service people are nice too… they’ll make you believe you can edit the exclusion to be more specific and encourage you to do more! When you do, the information submitted will take “up to 30 days to review” but each time they’ve sent a letter saying they need another 30 days. This process is designed for people to give up from frustration! Beware.”

☆☆☆☆

Rebecca S.

October 20, 2020

Insured by Nationwide Pet Insurance

………………………………

Quick response, easy to use and super friendly

“Our little poodle Millie jumped off bed and broke her front leg in Aug. We took her to ER at that day and scheduled following surgery and weekly review for her. Each time when we submitted claim to Healthy Paws, we can get very quick response (around 3 ~ 4 days at most). We once worried that ER fees & surgery fees (thousands of dollars) may need a long time to process and we might miss the card payment date. But it turns out there is totally no basis for that concern. We will definitely keep using Healthy Paws and recommend their team to our friends who have a pet : )”



Jing G.

October 20, 2020

Insured by Healthy Paws Pet Insurance

………………………………

Pricing is absurd!

“I am shopping around now comparing prices for our new puppy. I have looked at many companies and the monthly rate has ranged between $30 – $48 for a $250 deductible with 90% reimbursement. The Trupanion quote for this exact coverage was $79! Absolutely ridiculous, why would anyone choose this company?”

☆☆☆☆

Kelly S.

October 19, 2020

Insured by Trupanion Pet Insurance

………………………………

My dog is alive because of Healthy Paws

“I don’t like insurance. I resisted the idea of pet insurance and relied on a self-funded account for years. Then I ran through my $5,000 pet account in six weeks and couldn’t replenish it. I had to accept vet care had gotten too expensive for me not to have insurance. After researching and polling friends, I selected Healthy Paws. I can budget for preventive care and other predictable expenses, so the fact that Healthy Paws doesn’t cover them wasn’t a concern. I also liked that Healthy Paws doesn’t have a per incident deductible or a per pet, per incident or annual maximum.

About 4 ½ years ago, I enrolled my clumsy puppy, Coquette, because I just knew she was going to break something. I added my adult dog, Kite, just because. Admittedly, I felt like I was throwing money away the first year. Then my healthy Kite developed an odd liver issue with excessive drinking and urination. Healthy Paws paid for the diagnostics then and over the next 3 years, as multiple vets, vet hospitals and specialists tried to figure out what was making his liver values sporadically flare and subside. Healthy Paws paid for the allergy issues that Coquette developed, ultrasounds and an emergency spay and, sadly, diagnostics and exploratory surgery to discover the lymphoma that ended her life at age 3.

Last year, I added a new puppy to Healthy Paws. It was also the year Healthy Paws saved Kite’s life. A trip to Blue Pearl at the end of July revealed he was in acute kidney failure. The cause was unknown but he was put on IV treatments and then meds to stimulate urine production while testing for a cause, including the eventual Leptospirosis diagnosis, began. Two days after being admitted, the specialist said he wasn’t responding to treatment and I had 3 options: (1) keep doing what we were doing (wasn’t working!), (2) pursue dialysis (very expensive and not local), or (3) think about saying goodbye.

Everything logical in me said euthanasia was the answer. I was still trying to rebound from my portion of the expenses for Coquette’s lymphoma, I already owed Blue Pearl over $2,000, and dialysis would be very expensive with an estimated 50% chance of success. It was hard to think about losing another relatively young dog just seven months after losing Coquette, so I asked him to check into dialysis. Later that afternoon we made the drive from Kansas City to Purdue University…the closest vet hospital that did hemodialysis. Estimated cost–$8,000-$10,000.

He responded beautifully and was able to come home a week later to finish the rest of his recovery at Blue Pearl. Five days later we were on our way back to Purdue for a liver biopsy to see if the team who had done such a fabulous job saving his kidneys could figure out why his liver had suddenly failed. Was it the Doxycycline he’d been switched to for the Lepto or was it due to the underlying mystery liver condition? His liver values started declining once the Doxy was stopped and he was put on liver supplements, and five days later he was home for good while we waited on the biopsy results.

Unfortunately, the biopsy didn’t give us any answers, so his mystery liver remains a mystery, and he will remain on lifetime liver supplements ($135/month). All told, saving his life cost over $18,000. Without Healthy Paws pet insurance, he would be dead. I wouldn’t have had any other choice. I can’t say enough good things about them and have recommended them often to my friends and social media contacts. Thanks, Healthy Paws!”



Debbie D.

October 18, 2020

Insured by Healthy Paws Pet Insurance

………………………………

Helpful customer service

“Friendly, helpful customer service. Worth the long wait.”



Anthony K.

October 16, 2020

Insured by Nationwide Pet Insurance

………………………………

Quick and Easy

“Every time there has been an issue with my puppy and I have submitted a claim they have been very easy to work with. Their website as well as the app is easy to navigate and their customer service in incredible! The claims processed quickly and I got the money with no fuss. Great company and easy to work with.”



Phil M.

October 16, 2020

Insured by Healthy Paws Pet Insurance

………………………………

Time-tested and Consistent

“In the past 4.5 years that I’ve had pet insurance for my adopted Boston Terrier, Healthy Paws Pet Insurance has been extremely consistent in their pricing and reimbursements. I just spent a few grand on having a cyst and three teeth removed. Not only was I properly reimbursed; I was reimbursed within 7 business days of submitting the claim. I notice that there are other competing insurance options now; however, it makes sense to me to honor the plan that has been time-tested and consistent. That is so important.”



Priscilla B.

October 16, 2020

Insured by Healthy Paws Pet Insurance

………………………………

Yay Healthy Paws!

“Our dog got suddenly very ill and ended up in the ICU for 2 days. Each phone call from the vet was about yet another test that needed to be done. While we were so very worried about him, we had peace of mind because we had HEALTHY PAWS Pet Insurance. A bill of over $3000 was under $1000 and would’ve been even less if we had already met the deductible.I have told anyone who asked about him to get HEALTHY PAWS! And, they checked on him afterward! (He is back to normal!)”



Angela S.

October 16, 2020

Insured by Healthy Paws Pet Insurance

………………………………

Have to jump through hoops to get paid

“I submitted a claim weeks ago and it was declined for non-covered items. When I contact customer service I was told they required additional information from my vet to “ensure it is not a pre existing condition”. The only pre-existing condition she has is bacterial upper respiratory infection….she had an allergy test and an ultrasound. I had to contact back my vet and ask them to send additional records.

It took THREE TIMES of my vet sending for them to actually get it. And My vet had confirmations! Now they are saying it could be another 30-40 days to review!!! To me if just feels like they don’t want to pay the reimbursement.”

☆☆☆☆

Jennifer M.

October 15, 2020

Insured by Nationwide Pet Insurance

………………………………

Excellent Customer Care

“Desirae was a phenomenal help with my issues. Went above and beyond to make sure I was able to get resolution. I have referred many friends and family to Nationwide for this very reason. I wish all customer service experiences could be this wonderful!!!! Thank you Desirae and Nationwide!!!!”



Joan M.

October 14, 2020

Insured by Nationwide Pet Insurance

………………………………

Cover surgery

“Do they cover a knee surgery or TLPO surgery??”



Amira F.

October 15, 2020

Insured by ASPCA Pet Insurance

………………………………

JUST AWESOME!

“I have had insurance for my dog with Nationwide for two years. A couple of medical conditions and one minor accident later and I could not be more pleased with the coverage, fast claim process and professionalism of every employee I have dealt with on the phone. I highly recommend Nationwide.”



Deborah a.

October 7, 2020

Insured by Nationwide Pet Insurance

………………………………

Key



Sorted by Newest to Oldest

 

Related Content

Get Free Quotes!

Compare Quotes From all the Top Companies