Pet Insurance Quotes

Pet Insurance Reviews

pet insurance reviews

Compare Plans | Best Pet Insurance

Introduction

We’ve collected thousands of pet insurance reviews from customers who have experience with pet insurance. Like many products online, customer reviews are an excellent way to separate the winners from the losers to narrow your search. As you’ll see there are a lost of great companies but also some not-so-great reviews. So take a few minutes to read through so you can ensure you choose the perfect plan for your dog or cat.

Company

Rating

petco insurance
 
 

5.0 
4 reviews

healthy paws pet insurance logo
 
 

4.7 
9,125 reviews

trupanion pet insurance
 
 

4.7 
34,091 reviews

embrace pet insurance
 
 

4.6 
11,471 reviews

aspca pet health insurance
 
 
 

4.4 
7,952 reviews

pets best pet insurance
 
 
 

4.3 
9,684 reviews

petplan pet insurance
 
 

4.3 
6,434 reviews

figo pet insurance
 
 

3.9 
1,647 reviews

nationwide pet insurance logo
 
 

2.2 ☆☆
1,017 reviews

Best pet insurance companies in America - Last Updated: December 31, 2020

 

Most Recent Reviews

With over two dozen pet insurance companies in the market today, there is a plan and price for every man, woman, pup and kitty. Here is a list of the most recent customer reviews we’ve collected on PIQ.

………………………………

“Broken Front Leg”

“Found a cat with a broken front leg it looks like its been broken for a while what can I do thanks.”



Efrain C.

March 2, 2021

Insured by Healthy Paws Pet Insurance

………………………………

“I hope your experience will be better than mine.”

“As a pet owner who had insurance our our dog, I was excited to see a way to incorporate pet insurance at a lower rate through monthly payroll deduction through our company. WHAT. A. MISTAKE. Switching to Nationwide was a horrible experience: from poor communication to lack of follow-up, and arguing with me when I finally had enough and called to cancel. I would strongly recommend staying away if this is the typical experience.”

☆☆☆☆

Charles B.

February 27, 2021

Insured by Nationwide Pet Insurance

………………………………

“Super Easy”

“This is our first time having pet insurance of any kind after having 3 dogs without. Submitting a claim is super easy using my phone. After receiving my policy I read through everything that was covered and not covered so I would know what to expect. Every claim I submitted was reviewed in a timely fashion and the reimbursable amount directly deposited into my bank account. The last claim I submitted needed further documentation. I called customer service to better understand what was needed and the best way to send it. The rep I spoke with was super friendly and knowledgeable and the process was super easy! Love this product!”



Kimberly M.

January 24, 2021

Insured by Nationwide Pet Insurance

………………………………

“Highly Recommend – Excellent Coverage and Thoughtful Customer Service”

“I wish I could say I never had to use my Healthy Paws pet insurance but I have on numerous occasions for my two Pomeranians and I will forever be grateful that I had Healthy Paws coverage. It was a godsend when I was told that both of my pups needed surgery on both of their back knees w/in months of each other. And while we would have paid to have this done regardless, it was such a relief knowing our out-of-pocket cost for these expensive procedures would be a small fraction of what it would have been otherwise. It allowed us to focus on what was important – getting our pups the procedures they needed and not having to worry about the affordability. I have made a point to tell friends and family they are doing themselves and their pets a disservice by not having insurance and I cannot recommend Healthy Paws enough not only for their excellent coverage but for their genuine concern for our pet’s well-being.”



Robin W.

February 22, 2021

Insured by Healthy Paws Pet Insurance

………………………………

“Great coverage and caring customer service”

“a lab…that is reason enough to get pet insurance because they like to chew and sometimes eat random things! Healthy Paws not only provides great coverage, they actually care about how your pet is doing. Every time I talk to a rep on the phone or get an email, they ask about how our dog is doing. The coverage has been just what was promised for emergency situations!”



Lisa S.

February 21, 2021

Insured by Healthy Paws Pet Insurance

………………………………

“Absolutely love the insurance”

“I love having this insurance for my fur babies it is the best and has helped out so much when unexpected accidents happen and helps so much with their yearly vaccinations and microchips i love what petco is about and the way they are transitioning to a better healthier place.”



Danika M.

February 17, 2021

Insured by Petco Pet Insurance

………………………………

“👎👎👎👎👎👎👎👎👎👎

I have had prior pet insurance & this is the most unorganized & inconvenient deceiving etc. First I get a run down at store then I purchase then I never got anything they mail no instructions etc I knew when my coverage started so trying to submit a plan thru the webpage is not easy I tried every device even a public computer says low memory on each attempt. I then mail my stuff cuz I want to hit my $250 deductible & not thinking about it I log on to get a claims form & see nothing so I try to email & call. Don’t bother trying to ask your local store they don’t have any clue except a good marketing script to sell you some plan they know nothing about. What’s covered?? I don’t know I thought preventative care & emergencies but save yourself money & time as I sit here waiting for them to return my call after sitting on hold again over 30 mins. (Btw i was told this would automatically go towards my pet awards) 🤣🤣🤣 no & if I shop in store I never see rewards after asking about is this show up so yes I HIGHLY do not recommend this!! Get blood pressure meds before using it if you do. What do I like? Well so far nothing I guess it would be great maybe for expensive accidents but most vets will work with you on a payment plan.”

☆☆☆☆

Danika M.

February 16, 2021

Insured by Petco Pet Insurance

………………………………

“Happily Surprised & Impressed”

“We adopted / rescued our first family dog in June of 2020. As new dog owners, we wanted to be prepared for our new addition as much as possible. This included finding the best Pet Insurance. A co-worker with two dogs mentioned Healthy Paws and spoke very highly of the coverage, cost, and customer service. Given her positive experience we reviewed the offerings through Healthy Paws and looked no further. The policy we chose covers 90% of medical costs due to injuries / accidents and has a $250.00 deductible. A couple of weeks ago our dog suffered an obstruction and we had to take her to the Animal Hospital. After a full day of treatment we paid our bill and requested the appropriate invoices. When we told the Animal Hospital that he had pet insurance through Healthy Paws, the technician stated that they were one of the best insurances to work with which instantly gave me a sense of relief. The following day I opened our claim through the Healthy Paws app, took pictures of the invoices, and submitted my claim. Almost instantly I received an email from Healthy Paws asking for medical records (which the Animal Hospital sent to them), two days later our claim was processed and closed, and about 1 week later we received reimbursement. Honestly, I feel like our dog has better health insurance than we do! Healthy Paws also recently reached out to check in on our dog and that was a nice surprise. I am more than happy with Healthy Paws and lucky to have found such a great company.”



Roxana S.

February 4, 2021

Insured by Healthy Paws Pet Insurance

………………………………

“Very Easy”

“Very easy to navigate the app!”



Tanya P.

February 3, 2021

Insured by Healthy Paws Pet Insurance

………………………………

“Wish I Knew Sooner”

“I am still waiting to hear back for my claim on an emergency visit with ultrasound. They say they cover flea/tick/heartworm prevention but denied me the coverage because it was in tablet form which is not on their list of medications. VERY disappointed.”

☆☆☆☆

Chrysa T.

January 30, 2021

Insured by Pets Best Pet Insurance

………………………………

“Fast Payment”

“Our dog has surgery to remove a growth which then got infected. Healthy Paws paid for the original surgery and then the bandages changes (every 3 days for weeks) and the antibiotics. So glad we had their insurance.”



Mercy C.

January 29, 2021

Insured by Healthy Paws Pet Insurance

………………………………

“Really Great Pet Insurance Provider”

“My family has been very happy with Healthy Paws pet insurance! We started doing research before getting our dog and the website was very easy to navigate and get a quote. After we decided on Healthy Paws, the setup process was straightforward. We got our new pup (a rescue) 4 months ago and have already had to submit 3 claims. I was afraid this would cause issues, but the claims process is also very easy and we have had no hassles. They provide clear and detailed claim documentation and we were able to complete everything online or via email. We received reimbursement for 2 out of the 3 claims within days (the 3rd took about 3 weeks). Thankfully and most importantly, our pup is feeling all better now! We’ll continue to keep him covered by Healthy Paws.”



Clarissa M.

January 29, 2021

Insured by Healthy Paws Pet Insurance

………………………………

“Highly Recommend Alyssa – ASK for HER – She is Amazing and Very Dedicated You Will be Very Pleased”

“Alyssa went above and beyond helping me with a complicated issue. She succeeded where others failed. She was on the phone with me while Texting IT. Honestly, I was so frustrated until I spoke with Alyssa. She understood my issue and we were able to solve it together. It think she is secretly an IT genius. She was kind, smart and very patient. She explained everything she was doing and kept me apprised of her progress. She is a superstar and I hope Petplan recognizes her superior client service skills. I have been a long time Petplan policy holder and she just totally got it and got me. She is an exemplary employee.”



Eve T.

January 26, 2021

Insured by Petplan Pet Insurance

………………………………

“Puppy Package Included?”

“Do you guys cover spaying and vaccines for puppies?”



Orli V.

January 24, 2021

Insured by ASPCA Pet Insurance

………………………………

“Very Fast”

“Process the claim very fast.”



Lingyan Z.

January 20, 2021

Insured by Healthy Paws Pet Insurance

………………………………

“Best Ferret Insurance Available Today and I Highly Recommend Them!”

“I have researched ferret insurance for quite some time and few companies even covered ferrets. The ones that did cover them would not cover things like insulinoma or adrenal disease which is two of the most common problems ferrets have! Nationwide is the only one that did so I decided to get a policy on my 4 year old female ferret named Gucci last year. They offered a Whole Pet with Wellness plan, $100 yearly deductible with 90% reimbursement for about $37 a month and you can go to any Vet. Note, of course no insurance will cover pre-existing or experimental care. They state to allow 30 days for reimbursement but the 3 times I’ve used them, I got my claim money back with in about a week! So far I have been pleasantly surprised!

I noticed swollen glands around her neck a couple weeks ago and made an appointment right away. My Veterinary is concerned with possible lymphoma and scheduled a biopsy for this week to remove it and send it out for results. It’s heartbreaking worrying about the “C” word but at least it is a relief not having to worry about how I was going to pay for her bills too. Would I recommend Nationwide for your ferret? You betcha!”



Rebecca D.

January 18, 2021

Insured by Nationwide Pet Insurance

………………………………

“Deductibles Seem Like They’re Massive”

“My policy so far has been awful, as a first time dog owner my dog has gone through few small problems like an ear infection or her tummy getting upset due to me but very premium food. So far I’ve got about $100 back from $1500~ none of my stuff has been returned regardless of me having a $500 deductible that feels like it’s $10,000. I can’t recommend this.”

☆☆☆☆

Jose A.

January 17, 2021

Insured by Pets Best Pet Insurance

………………………………

“Outstanding Experience!”

“Outstanding Experience with Healthy Paws when Nahla had a tumor removed from her chest. Easy claim process and quick claim payment!”



Eddie G.

January 15, 2021

Insured by Healthy Paws Pet Insurance

………………………………

“Great!”

“Great coverage and simple claims!”



Dino F.

January 12, 2021

Insured by Healthy Paws Pet Insurance

………………………………

“Nationwide Agent is Very Professional”

“Called nationwide today regarding my billing and the agent who assisted me, her name is Aryan, is very helpful and professional.”



Mey F.

January 12, 2021

Insured by Nationwide Pet Insurance

………………………………

“I Am So Grateful”

“I am so grateful for your response, your personal caring, and for the most part, the efficiency with which I have been reimbursed. Nationwide has been extraordinary. My lovely girl Zainah was hit by a car and broke both front legs. She received the best care available and months of physical therapy after finally healing from three surgeries. Nationwide covered every cost, and even sent emails to check on her progress. They also were so supportive in supporting me through all the claims! I have referred many people to Nationwide and will continue to do so. The only concern I have is that the price for complete wellness plan, which I have, increases considerably each year.”

nationwide pet insurance review



Claudia C.

January 11, 2021

Insured by Nationwide Pet Insurance

………………………………

“Add More Personnel”

“I have been a policyholder for two years, currently I have been waiting several months for claims approval, the excuse being a large number of claims, this is not a satisfactory answer. Add more personnel to solve the problem. The people on the phone have been excellent, specifically Stacey.”

☆☆

Roger F.

January 11, 2021

Insured by Nationwide Pet Insurance

………………………………

“Helpful and Quick!”

“So helpful, quick with responding and processing, and receiving any payments. They even checked in on my dog after a surgery which was so nice! Highly recommend.”



Keri S.

January 11, 2021

Insured by Healthy Paws Pet Insurance

………………………………

“Healthy Paws is the Best!”

“Our dog Bernie had to have surgery for a tumor on his eyelid. We submitted the claim to Healthy Paws, and our check was sent to us in just over a week. Submitting a claim to Healthy Paws couldn’t be easier, and they are fast and efficient for their customers! We have had Healthy Paws insurance for both of our dogs for several years now, and have submitted a few claims for each dog. We have never been disappointed with our choice! They are an excellent company and we highly recommend them!!”



Diane H.

January 11, 2021

Insured by Healthy Paws Pet Insurance

………………………………

“Went Above and Beyond”

“Alyssa worked with me yesterday to sort out three different claims, two of which were list in the glitches of upgrading their systems. She was extremely knowledgeable, efficient, and checked back with me several times until everything was good to go. Thank you again Alyssa, you truly went above and beyond for me, Mysti, and Secret!!”



Teresa G.

January 9, 2021

Insured by Petplan Pet Insurance

………………………………

“The Best Pet Insurance There Is”

“We have had healthy paw since our english lab turned 1 (Percy is 3 and half now). We have been quite happy with the small incidentally claims until recently, Percy somehow ended up having a bad ear infection and infection caused his ear drum to rupture. We had no idea the medical bills would actually go into the thousands so fast and we couldn’t be thankful enough that we have healthy paw’s protection. To top it off, filing claims is literally snapping a picture and we never had to wait for more than 48 hrs for reimbursement shown up as direct deposit. Every step along the way, there is email notification and clear explanation. Percy is our first dog, to say we were a little skeptical in terms of getting medical insurance for a dog would not be an overstatement at the beginning, but you guessed it, we certainly are not regretting anything now. When vet offered choices of antibiotics in terms of cheaper one versus more expensive ones, cheaper ones being with side effect, taking twice a day vs expensive ones with hardly any side effect and only once a day, we were able to choose the latter for him because of healthy paw. There are many cheaper version of the insurance plans which we did comparison shopping at the beginning, healthy paw will be our only one and final choice for years to come.”



Cathy H.

January 9, 2021

Insured by Healthy Paws Pet Insurance

………………………………

“Thanks Nationwide”

“We had Nationwide Insurance for our beloved pet Rocky for many years. We had to put Rocky down in February, 2020, which was such a difficult decision for us. Rocky was 12 years of age and had developed benign meningiomas of the brain, which caused several seizures and was incurable. Nationwide assisted us to be able to get the proper tests to diagnose his condition and helped us with the medical bills and several trips to the ER. They were such a great help to us and paid our claims according to the schedule. Thanks Nationwide for your help! Previous to 2020, he had minor surgeries to have lumps removed, and again Nationwide was there for us.”

☆

Rosemary B.

January 8, 2021

Insured by Nationwide Pet Insurance

………………………………

“Awful!!!!”

“Absolutely awful! Paid for Teddis first year! Had one claim to submit, 5 weeks later still trying to get it processed. No emails returned, spent days trying to get ahold of someone via the phone! Finally canceled it!”

☆☆☆☆

Julie E.

January 8, 2021

Insured by Pets Best Pet Insurance

………………………………

“Recommend Agent”

“Cindy A. was a great rep who assisted me with all my questions. She provided great feedback, spoke very kindly, professional and understood my inquiries.”



Suthea O.

January 7, 2021

Insured by Nationwide Pet Insurance

………………………………

“Claim ‘Processing’ Times, Non-existent Customer Service”

“Our cat had severe gastritis on Thanksgiving and was vomiting every thirty minutes to an hour for twelve hours. We had to take her to the animal hospital where she was treated. Since it was our first claim, Embrace requested her medical history which my vet submitted immediately. I confirmed with Embrace that it was received immediately. It is now January 7th and Embrace has still not processed the claim. Had I known they would would sit on claims for months and provide near non-existent customer service (I receive the same standard, generic email every time I question the status), I would’ve chosen a better provider. I also recently received notice that our premium will be going up significantly for the next year, which I assume is in response to the fact that we filed a claim, even though they have not paid the claim.”

☆☆☆☆

Elizabeth M.

January 7, 2021

Insured by Embrace Pet Insurance

………………………………

“Amazing Customer Service!!!”

“I had the pleasure of talking to one of Nationwide’s agents Rochelle Munoz and she was absolutely phenomenal!! Give her a raise!! She was so patient and understanding and she walked me through all of my claims. I was very upset in the beginning because of the problems I was having with one of my claims but when I got on the phone with her, she completely turned my mood around and I truly felt like I was being heard and understood by her. By the end of our call, I felt so much happier with the resolution and I felt like she really helped me with this situation. Thank you so much!!!”



Dashmeet T.

January 7, 2021

Insured by Nationwide Pet Insurance

………………………………

Key



Sorted by Newest to Oldest

Related Content

Get Free Quotes!

Compare Plans and Prices from the Top Companies